Assiniboia   Broadview   Canora   Carlyle   Davidson   Esterhazy   Estevan   Fort Qu'appelle   Hudson Bay   Humboldt   Ituna   Kamsack   Kindersley   

Lloydminster   La Loche   La Ronge   Langenburg   Lumsden   Maple Creek   Meadow Lake   Melfort   Melville   Moose Jaw   Moosomin   Nipawin   

North Battleford   North Valley    Prince Albert    Regina   Rosetown   Saskatoon   Shaunavon   Swift Current   Warman   Weyburn   Wolseley   

White Butte   Wynyard   Yorkton


Fire Ban Now in Place for Crown Land, Provincial Parks in Southwest Saskatchewan

Due to extreme wildfire hazards, the Ministry of Environment, in consultation with the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport, has issued a ban on all open fires for provincial Crown land and for provincial parks and recreation sites in southwest Saskatchewan.

Effective immediately, all open fires are prohibited in the following area: south of Highway 7 from the Alberta border east to Rosetown; west of Highway 4 south to the junction of highways 4 and 15; south of Highway 15 west to the junction of highways 15 and 11; west of Highway 11 south to Regina; and west of Highway 6 from Regina to the U.S. border. The ban affects all provincial parks and recreation sites in the ban area, including: Buffalo Pound, Cypress Hills (Centre and West blocks), Danielson, Douglas, Saskatchewan Landing, St. Victor’s Petroglyphs and Wood Mountain Post provincial parks; Elbow Harbour, Coldwell Park, Cypress Lake, and Lovering Lake recreation sites. For a full list of all provincial parks and recreations sites covered by the ban, visit Due to extreme wildfire hazards, some roads and campgrounds may be closed. If you plan to visit a provincial park or recreation site, call the park in advance to confirm conditions. This ban applies to provincial Crown land, and provincial parks and recreation sites. Municipalities, as well as regional and national parks, may also ban open burning in their areas of responsibility. Check with your local authority to find out if there are burning restrictions in place for your area. For the duration of the ban, no open fires are permitted. Fireworks are also prohibited. Self-contained heating devices, pressurized stoves, gas barbecues, propane firepits, or charcoal briquettes used in an approved firebox will be permitted for cooking and heating purposes during the ban. The fire ban is effective immediately and will stay in place until conditions improve and the Ministry of Environment rescinds the order.

Related Local News Articles

Watch Unlimited On Demand &

Live Streaming TV for $4.99/month

Email-Logo 2019.png